Course Info
  • Instructor: Student Ratio – 1:4

  • 7 day course

Requirements
  • No previous experience

  • Age 12+

RYA Website
Back
Day Skipper

Competent Crew Course Summary

This course is for beginners and those who would like to become active crew members rather than just passengers.

Experience living on board and really get to know the boat. Virtually all the course is hands on. You are the crew – without you the sails won’t go up and the boat won’t be steered.

By the end of the course you will have covered practical navigation, pilotage, boat handling, seamanship and watch skippering techniques. We combine this course with the Day Skipper course so students sail alongside each other to experience a wider range of sailing.

2022 Course Fees (Comp Crew)

All of our RYA courses are sponsored by the RAF Sports Charity, which allows Serving RAF personnel the opportunity to pay minimal fees. Students not currently serving can still attend, and pay a higher (but still extremely competitive) rate.

Membership Type Price
RAFSA Serving member £30
RAFSA Civilian £205
Non-RAFSA Civilian £250

During the course, additional costs will be incurred and shared among the students to cover on-board food, marina fees, and fuel. These costs will vary according to crew choices on victualing, instructor/crew choices on marina locations, weather and on how many crew are on-board but should be approximately £60 – £80 per person.

2022 Course Dates (Comp Crew)

* Courses assemble at 1600 on the first Sunday and Handover by 1300 on the last Sunday of the course.

22-6
Ardrossan – Sir Arthur
Sun 27th Mar – Sun 3rd Apr 2022
Finalising
22-7
Ardrossan – Sir Arthur
Sun 8th May – Sun 15th May 2022
Finalising
22-9 
Ardrossan – Sir Arthur
Sun 12th Jun – Sun 19th Jun 2022
Finalising
22-10
Ardrossan – Sir Arthur
Sun 27th Jun – Sun 3rd Jul 2022
Finalising
22-11
Plymouth – Atlas
Sun 10th Jul – Sun 17th Jul 2022
Finalising
22-12
Ardrossan – Sir Arthur
Sun 7th Aug – Sun 14th Aug 2022
Finalising
22-13
Plymouth – Atlas
Sun 11th Sep – Sun 18th Sep 2022
Finalising
Cancellation Policy

Our cancellation policy is that full fees are due if cancellation is within 30 days of the course start date. Cancellation prior to that will result in loss of deposit, but this can be carried forward to another course with RAFSA(O).  For Serving personnel who are unable to attend for Service reasons, a full refund will be offered once confirmation is received from the individual’s chain of command.

Should the course be cancelled for reasons attributing to RAFSA, an alternative course will first be offered. If the student is unable to take this up, then the full cost of the course will be refunded. This will not include any additional costs relating to travel or subsistence.