The RAF Dinghy Championships namely the ‘Brady Trophy’ took place on the 12-14th October 2022 at Rutland Sailing Club near RAF Wittering. The event was supported by tlmNexus Ltd who’s generous donation is hugely valued over the years. 9 entires took part in the 2 day event and several newcomers attended the regatta.

The event is open to all with an interest in dinghy sailing whether you have just learnt to sail or seasoned sailors with decades of experience. Racing was organised by long standing RAFSA member Steve Bales as the Race Officer supported by members Tony Barmby, Neil Wilkinson to which without them the event wouldn’t happen.

Special thanks goes to the RAF Safety Division who provided the powerboats and crews to ensure safety was paramount on the water.

The races were hotly contested throughout the fleet and the top RAF sailors were battling it out at the top of the fleet. Veteran sailor Kev O’Brien sailing with newcomer Katie Ellis was defending his 3 times ‘Brady Champion’ title, but young gun sailors Ben Hawkes and Jonny McVey started the regatta in a commanding position. However their position was always at threat by Kyle Hurst and Elliot Jones who were always pushing at the top of fleet. After two days racing Ben Hawkes and Jonny McVey took the ‘Brady Championships’ crown.

The event closed with a 3 course ‘Prize Giving’ meal provided by the first class catering at Rutland Sailing Club. Prize’s were awarded for each race win, endeavour trophy chosen by the Race Officer Steve Bales, and the coveted Brady Trophy first won in 1949 and was awarded to the winners Ben Hawkes (RAF Marham) and Jonny Mcvey (RAF Brize Norton) by Steve Harvey representative from TLMNexus.

If you fancy having a go at dinghy sailing or can already sail then please get in touch with RAFSA. We are always looking for new sailors to represent the RAF at Joint Service events throughout the year.

Kev O’Brien